The Green Pan – A MomGadget Review

by Gayla Baer

While I’m not exactly sure I’m totally convinced of the whole ‘global warming’ scare just yet, I am always interested in ways to help improve the planet and the future of my children. Mama’s not always going to be around to take care of them, so I’m laying the ground work now.

What I love most is when a product surfaces that is environmentally safe and doesn’t include me getting overly dirty. Composting! Need I say more?

I love to cook nice healthy meals for my family – and while grandmas iron skillet rocks for things like cornbread – there’s an awful lot of elbow grease that goes into cleaning that puppy.

I remember when Teflon came out and my mom getting so excited at the thought of never scrubbing a pan again. No, you didn’t have to scrub it, because the Teflon bubbled up and pealed right out – along with your meal. I’d hate to imagine the amount of Teflon I’ve eatin in my lifetime.

Not my kids! No siree! I’ve been introduced to the Green Pan. This pan is SO cool! If you’ve never stopped channel surfing on the Green Pan infomericial, DO! I’m telling you, it’s all real!

I know, I KNOW, infomercials suck and the ONLY reason I stopped and actually watched one was because I heard Green Pan just before the click of the remote.

This cookware Rocks! GreenPan is first cookware to use Thermolon non-stick coating. The GreenPan line of cookware is ceramic based and doesn’t contain any PTFE – the chemical found in traditional degradable coating, or eco-hazzard chemical PFOA. Designed to be the last cookware you buy and the super non-stick release works up to a sizzling 850 degrees - that’s over 4 1/2 times the heat of a McDonalds coffee.

The thing I like most is I can throw anything in, and skip the oil – the same oil that you can never really figure out what’s healthiest and what’s not. Because NOTHING sticks. No more butters, fats or oils – just healthier meals for your entire family.

Have you ever seen the pans or the stove top left behind by a teen that’s just learning to cook?

Believe me, I LOVE this cookware!

Less time in the kitchen means more time with my family!

The actual retail value of the entire set is $529.75 – BUT  I found it available through Amazon for less.

Eco Friendly Green Pan                Green Pan Cookware sets                           

Tags: , , , , , ,

Related posts:

  1. Green Pan—How eco is it?
  2. Skeeda Reuseable Shopping Bags – A MomGadget Review
  3. MomGadget Mail Bag – Scosche Goes Green with solCHAT
  4. Foot Flush – A MomGadget Review
  5. Gloves in a Bottle – A MomGadget Review

{ 128 comments… read them below or add one }

josh August 23, 2010 at 7:17 pm

ive been cooking for 20 years and this is the best fricken pan ive ever used. i did get the burnt on oil, and i thought my new pan was ruined. heat up your stove on med-high and scape that junk off with a fork or something. i was really hesitant to scrape any metal on this pan because of the teflon crap, but sure enough, no scratches or anything. so get it the pan hot and scrape, then wipe off with a rag when still hot. it prolly wont all come up. but my pan works like a charm, i will never buy anything else. also, this might not sound yummy, but when your done with the pan, all you wanna do is rinse it out and wipe with a towel. you want to keep a very very thin layer of the left over grease on the pan. when you wash it, it takes all that off, and you prolly have to re-apply the light coating of vegetable oil, or whatever you prefer.

josh August 23, 2010 at 7:43 pm

if any of you guys wanna throw away your pans my way, ill take all of them. the other guy that said they were good, also doesnt wash his at all, wich is a cook thing, but they are great pans.

just use your brain when using these pans and youll love em i promise.

Ed September 10, 2010 at 4:30 am

Don’t believe the hype! I was so excited to get these, thinking of all the positives that I am making for the environment plus still enjoying the non-stick benefits. Well, it worked beautifully for weeks, absolutely beautiful. Nothing stuck…….and then, just as quickly, the non-stick property was gone, completely. It got to the point where eggs stuck like one wouldn’t believe, even with a layer of oil!! I had to return the pans twice to get replacements but the same thing happened, again and again. I’m glad that the manufacturer is honoring their guarantee but just how environmentally friendly this is, if they keep having to make new pans so that they can replace them!? This is a great idea that is not quite at prime time yet. Maybe it will get there eventually. But honestly, teflon is also much better made nowadays vs. 20-30 years ago.

Donna September 21, 2010 at 4:40 pm

I too bought these pans last year. Loved them until about the 8th time I went to use them and everything stuck so bad I couldn’t scrape the food off. I never put in dishwasher, I always just rinsed out and wiped down with cooking oil. I did everthing right and they didn’t last but a month before I had to send back.

Folding Table December 4, 2010 at 7:40 am

of the asian foods that i tastes, japanese foods and thai foods are the tastiest stuff ,:`

Ray Beck December 17, 2010 at 7:42 pm

I bought a Green Pan and followed the instructions religiously. Used only a cloth and dishwashing soap to clean it. After the nineth or tenth use food stuck on it like a magnet. Even pouched eggs stuck to the pan like glue. Please “Google” this awfull product to find out the truth about it.

Bought from London Drugs in Vancouver, Canada.
Ray Beck
rbbeck2@hotmail.com

AlexE January 10, 2011 at 4:16 pm

Hi Gayla,

Do you still have these pans and has the non-stick coating lasted?

rgds/alex

Hmm March 20, 2011 at 6:18 pm

America’s Test Kitchen did a review of non stick pans. These did not fair well with use. Like it’s been reported here, the non stick loses it’s ability not long after use (+1 year). This is not acceptable given the cost.

As far as teflon goes, that’s not an option. Teflon is made up of PFOA and or PFOE and other nasties. It’s being eliminated due to regulations within the next 5 years thats why you are starting to see the price plummet on teflon pans.

If you want non stick, buy an iron skillet or pan. Cure/season it and add some oil. This is your non stick pan and it’s SAFE…and environmentally friend. Buy one and it’ll last a life time. End of story

jace April 18, 2011 at 10:04 pm

my friend bought one of these green pan branded pans each for herself & me. they worked well for a couple months but are absolutely horrible now. everything sticks. it’s hard to clean. I barely cook any more when it comes to skillet or frying because it’s too much trouble. the food gets torn up just trying to move it around when cooking. I have no money so I can’t replace it. I just mostly gave up on cooking. my friend said to me “these pans just make me feel sad.”

they’re horrible.

jace April 18, 2011 at 11:48 pm

my experiences (& those of the friend that bought me my pan) are the same as the negative reviews above. it was great at first but is now terrible, despite caring for it. everything sticks. it’s the opposite of non-stick.

Terri May 19, 2011 at 9:05 pm

A truly AWFUL product. I received a set as a gift and used them according to the directions. They worked great a few times and have have gradually become the worst pans I’ve ever used. Everything sticks and they are useless. There is nothing “green” about a product with such a short life. I agree with the comment above about a well-seasoned iron fry pan, non-toxic and lasts forever. My advice is to RUN away from these pans.

Michael May 24, 2011 at 4:03 pm

Okay, here is why the reviews are so mixed, love and hate.
I have over 20 pieces of the Thermalon GreenPan. After trying my first set, I was ecstatic. It was THE MOST NON-STICK pan ever! So I ordered a larger set for me and a friend.
This early stage of use is when the good reviews are written.
After a few months however, ALL of the pieces lost their non-stick quality. They still looked good, there was no flaking or visible degradation, but it became impossible to cook without oil. Kinda defeats the purpose of this cookware right?
This product would be the best thing ever if the non-stick quality remained the same. I can tell you, even with careful care and delicate washing by hand and sponge, they degrade at a microscopic surface level you cannot see. All the sets I have are now useless. My friend has had exactly the same experience in a different household.

Ron July 23, 2011 at 12:14 pm

It sure sounded good, so I bought it. As kitchen tools go, this is the worst disappointment I have had. It is not an inexpensive implement, but the best word I can offer for my green pan is : J U N K!

Nice pan when first used, but its life span is limited to a few weeks and after that it looks as good as new, but it is unusable.

I use extra virgin olive oil only, and after two months of use on medium heat only, quite literally everything sticks to this worthless pan.
I do not even understand it, because it does not matter what heat setting is used and it does not matter if oil is in the pan: everything sticks anyway.

Cleaning with baking soda or vinegar makes no difference. I have even tried ceramic cleaner and all is wasted effort. Everything that goes into the pan sticks to it.

It is not only a waste of money, it is very frustrating to pay a high price for what should be a decent product and find you have to throw it away even sooner than one you might have purchased for a quarter of the price.

Rene September 17, 2011 at 11:38 pm

I have an Ecolon pan, which is also a ceramic non-stick, and it usually works very well. Occasionally, though, everything sticks–usually after I’ve used it for poaching. I’ve found that simmering some vinegar water in it for 10min or so returns it to it’s slippery best.

Ron October 5, 2011 at 4:02 pm

I too have had a terrible experience with the green pan. I followed the instructions in every respect and have found that the pan does not work. The hype where they show an egg sliding around the pan is pure bull. No matter what amount of oil or temperature used the eggs stick. In fact in my last attempt to cook an egg it stuck so badly that I could turn the pan upside down and the egg would not come out. I had to scrap it out. Forget having eggs over easy with this pan. I suppose if you let them float in bacon grease they might not stick. That is how it used to be done in a cast iron skillet and it didn’t stick. Don’t waste your money on these pans.

marc October 23, 2011 at 1:39 pm

There is nothing durable about these pan’s.
I have them for over 1 year, first they where fine but now it’s not possible to stir & fry chicken or beef, it all sticks horribly to the pan even when i use a lot of oil. When stir & fry the pan turns brown and the food taste burned.

I had to buy an other pan just for stir and fry cooking, voor soup and so it’s just fine.

k.r.
Marc

Anna October 31, 2011 at 1:52 pm

I have a ecologically friendly cooking implement that doesn’t get me too dirty either, it’s called a ‘husband’ :-)

I f you want to cook healthily folks use a steamer, not only will it make food taste better it is ecologically sound as little of the heat is wasted, and of course the food retains more nutrients.
As for frying, use a wok these retain a lot of heat.
Failing that use the heaviest frying pan you can find, and before use prepare it by heating oil in it until it is smoking hot (make sure you watch it just in case it gets too hot)
Let it cool and then do it again.
Never wash frying pans inside with soapy water, just drain off any excess oil and wipe them out with a cloth or kitchen towel.
If you do ever need to wash them out, you will need to burn them out again with hot oil.
I have to pans, one for things likes eggs and bacon and another for strong spicy foods like onions etc.
It may take a little use before a new pan becomes properly non-stick using this method but it works fine eventually, if there is any build up in the bottom of the pan scrape it off with a plastic or wooden spatula otherwise this will cause food to stick.

Gary Waters January 28, 2012 at 4:21 am

I wish I had read all of these comments before I wasted my money on this pan. It sticks with everything I cook, even when I use oil. I called and they told me I hadn’t seasoned it propertly, tried what they suggested, it still sticks, would cost as much to send it back as it is worth so I will just throw if away…My suggestion. DON’T BUY

Cindy February 9, 2012 at 8:08 pm

Green pan I have, frying no good w /without oil!
Boiling or roasting is ok.

Lydia February 21, 2012 at 12:14 pm

I was just curious about this greenpan as I am getting it soon, prize from a contest I won. Now, I am not sure if I should re-gift (I planned so) to my sister after many negetive comments.

Momma of 6 March 3, 2012 at 10:52 pm

I rec’d my Green Pan Christmas 2011. The pan worked like a DREAM! After a month of meals, everything sticks! The inner rim is still non-stick, that’s about it. I admit I cook a lot but this pan is completely useless. Cooking on low to med heat did nothing to keep this pan functioning.

Bonnie April 24, 2012 at 3:28 am

After reading the reviews…I refused my pans when the arrived. Didn’t even open the package. Still waiting for a refund…

Jack Drexel July 11, 2012 at 7:25 am

DO NOT BELIEVE THE HYPE!!! — is all I can say. Green Pans look pretty ‘cool’ and this super-high-tech coating sounds great … but it doesn’t work! After less than 6 months of pretty light use, only been cleaned with soap and a soft cloth, the ‘non-stick’ surface in my green pan (28″) is almost completely destroyed. I was so happy to find a Green Pan half price, but even so it’s a waste of money. Overpriced, doesn’t live up to what it claims to be.

Peter VG July 21, 2012 at 8:43 am

When I cooked in teflon my eggs also stuck after months…
I use my greenpans nearly every single day and even after 3 years I still love them.
I also had a skillet from hsn, but this one didn’t last very long. It seems they have different quality.
Anyway when used properly these pans are fantastic. And teflon free. It’s crazy people still use these chemicals to cook.

Loretta July 31, 2012 at 8:17 pm

I’ve had my 11″ fry pan a year now and it’s still working like a dream. I’m very surprised at the negative comments. My son is a chef (Le Cordon Bleu) and loves his set and hasn’t had any sticking issues. I feel better using mine and not aluminum or aTeflon. I have a cast iron I use in the mountains but it sticks with out oil. I guess I’m a lucky one. I think checking how high your fire is and what you define as medium heat might help. Also be careful putting straight vinegar without water in. Trying simmering water and vinegar for a bit. I heard that helps clean any residue that might be clinging and puts it back to it’s finest.

Mary C. October 27, 2012 at 6:14 am

I bought pan monyh ago, did everything rite in curing etc n the yolks seperated from the whites and stuck in pan!

Hanna November 21, 2012 at 2:04 pm

I have the same negative experience with my Green Pan. After it startet to lose it’s non-sticking abilities, it’s surface started to look brownish or burned, and it is impossible to clean it. And each time after using it, more brownish patches accumulate on the pan. Still, I am not throwing it out because the only food that comes out perfect of this pan are crepes. I was wondering if anybody knows, if it is still safe to cook on this brownish-burned surface. What do those brownish-burned patches represent?

Me January 14, 2013 at 12:44 pm

I have a large Greenpan skillet. I’ve had it for almost a year, and it works fine. It sticks if I don’t season it, but for example bacon doesn’t stick at all.

Although I use it almost daily, I’ve only used it with medium and low heat – maybe that’s a reason? I cook with coconut oil, ghee and olive oil, and never use vegetable oils.

Leave a Comment

{ 4 trackbacks }

Previous post:

Next post:


Links monetized by Kontera.com Amazon.com cj.com VigLink