Transition Lenses Review

by Dee Marie

 

transitions-logo2

Motorcycle Sunglasses                   Golf Eyeware                 Eyeglasses Sale

Eyeglasses have always seemed to be a part of me.  Although I didn’t wear them as a kid, I‘ve worn them for quite some time now and quite frankly I love them.   I have gotten countless compliments from wearing my my glasses.  I’ve gotten things like ohhh you look so SMART. INTELLIGENT. DISTINGUISHED!   It sorta makes you feel good and a great compliments never hurts.  And today,  there are so many options available, I just love all the beautiful frames and styles they have available.

A few months ago, I was granted the opportunity to do a review on Transition Lenses.   I was ecstatic because I’ve always heard great things about them but now I get the opportunity to try them for myself.   After wearing my new frames for a couple of weeks now, I have nothing but good things to say about these lenses.

The timing couldn’t have been better for this review since I was long overdue for my yearly eye exam.    The staff over at Vision Care Optometry were of course very professional and attentive as usual.   Picking out the perfect pair of stylish frames fitted with the Transition Lenses was a blast and I couldn’t be happier!

Anxious about receiving my new frames; I think I may have called a few times just to make sure they didn’t arrive a bit earlier than expected.  All of this excitement comes from the fact that I’ve always wanted a pair and I wanted to see if all of this excitement I had was granted.   I was not disappointed.

Take a look at the frames I chose.  I just love them!

myglasses21

Since I am concerned about the UVA effects on my eyes, I always have my sunglasses in tow so that I am protected.     Owning a pair of Transition lenses now gives me the convenience of not having to carry around an extra pair of glasses.  Transition Lenses darken as the lenses are exposed to UVA rays and block 100% of harmful UVA and UVB rays.

More about Transition lenses:

“Transitions® lenses are the ideal everyday choice for healthy sight.  They provide visual comfort, and enhance visual quality by reducing glare and enhancing contrast, helping you to see.  Transitions lenses block 100 percent of harmful UVA and UVB rays – helping to protect the health and wellness of your eyes – so you can see better tomorrow as well. ”

“Automatically changing from clear indoors to sunglass dark when exposed to UV light outdoors, photochromic lenses, such as Transitions lenses, are the ideal “Mom Gadget,” offering comfort and convenience without the bother of having to constantly switch between everyday and sun lenses. For the busy mom-on-the-go, having one less pair of glasses to worry about can make a huge difference when getting kids ready for sporting events or pool parties.”

Transitions Lenses  are Clear Indoors

transitions1

Transitions Lenses  Darken Outdoors

transitions2

“Protection from the sun is important year-round, but is especially important throughout summer. Moms know to protect their skin and their children’s skin with sunscreen, but many do not realize that exposure to UV rays can cause just as much damage to the eyes as it does to the skin. In fact, children are more at risk of experiencing the eye-damaging effects of UV exposure than adults, making appropriate eye protection for them a necessity. Transitions lenses block 100 percent of these harmful UV rays– promoting healthy, quality sight and helping to protect the sensitive skin around the eyes.

Transitions lenses can be fitted with your favorite designer frame, for both adults and children, and are offered in the widest range of lens materials and designs.”

For more information about Transition Lenses be sure to visit their website at www.transitions.com.  You may also connect with them on Facebook and Twitter.

Motorcycle Sunglasses                   Golf Eyeware                 Eyeglasses Sale

Related posts:

  1. Best Buy Helping the Digital Broadcast Transition
  2. Robeez Baby Shoes Review
  3. Shooshoos Baby Shoes Review
  4. Coppertone NutraShield MomGadget Review Giveaway
  5. Insignia Digital Photo Frame – A MomGadget Review

{ 18 comments… read them below or add one }

Alan July 2, 2010 at 11:25 am

I’ve got the frames which look similar :)
I love them!

Fish Ponds July 21, 2010 at 6:40 am

Since the basic purpose of the internet is to share the knowledge and to communicate with each other, I can say that forums and blogs are playing one of the vital role in sharing the knowledge and to communicate with each other.

filorga July 29, 2010 at 3:07 pm

And they are beautifull !

David August 15, 2010 at 4:47 pm

I love my transition lenses. Now that I have them I will never go back to the regular ones.

GT Doc August 19, 2010 at 7:22 pm

Please don’t confuse UV protection with shading of the lenses. UV light can’t be seen with the naked eye. From my reseach I have noted that the “polycarbonate” lens materials block “all UV light”, therefore even clear lenses would provide protection.

Charles August 21, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Transition lenses are fantastic for the active outdoor person. If you are due for an eye exam, I would be sure to talk with your eye care professional about these great lenses.

Average Joes August 26, 2010 at 10:09 am

Transitions are great, but you get what you pay for. Some cheaper brands take ages to adjust and by that time you are nearly blind!!

They are the ultimate ‘useful’ gadget though!! :D

Realtor in Colorado February 2, 2011 at 5:08 pm

I have had my transition glasses for almost two yeas and I have to say I am not all that impressed with them. At the time my eye doctor really sold me on them and stated they would transition in just a minute or two. The reality is they take more like 10 to 15 minutes to transition back to clear. So when I walk into an office I typically have to take my glasses off so I can see what I am reading… but I need my glasses so I can read. And, on cloudy overcast days when I am outside working, the lenses darken just like it was a blue bird day. I have to say I am not impressed with these glasses; 1. because of the price and 2. because they are just not practical. In my opinion you would be better served by not getting transition lenses and saving your money for a pair of prescription sunglasses. Don’t buy into the hype of transition lenses.

lenzen vergelijken February 28, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Photochromic lenses such as those made by Transitions Optical are clear (or nearly clear) indoors and darken automatically in response to sunlight outdoors. They also protect your eyes from 100 percent of the sun’s harmful ultraviolet radiation.

These features make photochromic lenses a great convenience, because they reduce your need to wear prescription sunglasses in most outdoor conditions.

Bud Enger March 20, 2011 at 10:07 pm

I have had my transition lenses, purchased from Lenscrafters, for two years. Two weeks ago I started to see things through my glasses like looking through a net. I went to Lenscrafters today to see what could have happened. I was informed by the manager in Ala Moana Mall that this is normal. She stated the these lenses only last from 18 months to 24 months. She said the manufacturer and the “industry” think your eyes will change and they should be replaced before 2 years. I asked if there was anything I (or they) could do about it and she said I should probably switch to regular plastic lenses. She said the problem is caused by heat and apparently it is hotter here in Hawaii than other places. I wouldn’t count on Lenscrafters or Transition lenses seeing any more of my money. By the way I paid over $640.00 for my glasses.

John in CA March 27, 2011 at 9:13 am

I paid over $300 for my first pair of transitions and within 6 months I couldn’t wear them for night driving 9which is why I bought them). Whenever looking at lights I would see massive glare, like a star filter. When I returned them to Costco I was told it could be from the heat. If you leave them in the car on hot days it wears on the coating. I live in California and after learning this about Transitions I will not buy anymore. These are my driving glasses and if I can’t leave them in the car what good are they?!?

Vic Abbott July 24, 2011 at 1:22 am

The first post by ‘Mom Gadget’ failed to mentio how they perform while driving a car. Blogs from 10 years ago explained that because the windshield has a UV coating the transition lens have nothing to react to in order to darken the lens.
I thought that maybe 10 years later some solution to this problem might have been discovered; evidently not, Any mention of these lenses usually skirt the issue.

I guess sunglasses are the only way to go.

Vic in Florida

Karen Stauss September 5, 2011 at 4:14 pm

What a disappointing “review”. Actually it’s not really a review at all. It’s just showing us the frames you chose and telling us you got them for free. An actual review of the product would tell us about your experience with it. Instead, you did a cut-&-paste from their marketing material. Yawn. I can find that on their website instead of reading your so-called review. My suggestion would be to provide the reader with information on your experience with the product. Otherwise please don’t mis-label your post as a review. Truthfully it’s not.

dkar September 12, 2011 at 12:40 pm

This ‘review’ reads like a paid advertisement. Funny how after the review is on the net for a while, others (who are apparently more thorough users/reviewers than the author) note some of the shortcomings.

Was this a thorough, balanced review, or a regurgitation of the marketing material that you picked up at the store?

cathy September 15, 2011 at 2:27 am

You have a very valid point. At the time this product was tested, this was the tester’s experience. As you can see from later reviews, others did not have the same positive experience. Our review policies on this website are very clear, if we do a paid review, we disclose it clearly up front. Out of the hundreds of reviews we done on this site less than 1% have been ‘paid’. Most of our testers choose not to do any paid reviews.

All reviews are the valid opinion of the tester at the time. In addition to this product there have been other products we’ve tested that we initially like, then after review publication, we hear negative issues from our readers. We publish our readers comments, the good, the bad and the ugly here because we believe in being honest. If you have questions about how we do reviews or our editorial policy you can find it at http://www.momgadget.com/advertisepr/product-reviews-and-giveaways/.

The primarily positive bias of this site is based on the fact we only review products we think our readers will like. Our testers are busy moms and family members that only want to try things they think they would want to use, most of the time we find things about the products we test that we do like and we let you know. We also balance our reviews by including things we don’t like or things we think can be improved. Bottom-line, our reviews are our testers opinions based on their experiences at the time.

Don beall va. October 2, 2011 at 12:11 pm

I too had a very dissipointing time with Lens crafters after paying over 400.00 dollars my glasses too started that webbing , was also told that heat was cause. bad product is the cause . they eanted to charge me another 180.00 to replace the lenses wiich were about 1 month past the warranty Don’t buy from Lenscrafters

Bruce Schwartz October 26, 2011 at 4:51 am

Transition lenses do not darken fast enough and they do not get dark enough. THEY SUCK. DON’T BUY THEM.

P.M. Rosenberg June 4, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Lousiest lenses I’ve ever had in six decades. No problem with performance, to be sure, but the photochromic film coating on my pair started shrinking and deteriorating at the edges just after the one-year warranty expired; the ultra-expensive lenses are virtually unusable now . . .

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post:


Links monetized by Kontera.com Amazon.com cj.com VigLink